Qingli He

Hometown: Guangdong, China

Major: Child, Youth, and Family Studies

Languages: Mandarin, Cantonese, English

Hobbies: Traveling, photography, hiking, painting, learning something new.

Biography: My name is Qingli, and I was born in Guangdong (Canton), which is a coastal province in south China. Guangdong is an important place for the inheritance of Lingnan culture. Guangzhou, a city of Guangdong, was the only foreign treaty port in China in the Qing Dynasty, which laid a good foundation for the current open-mind and inclusive cultural environment. 

Portland was my first stop to learn about local American culture and start my college life. I am an undergraduate student at PSU, and I major in Child, Youth and Family Studies (CYFS). The CYFS program enables me to learn a lot of diversified knowledge and information about cultural differences, and I have learned that multicultural education and bilingual education accord with my education philosophy. 

In addition to accumulating a rich campus life experience, I like to participate in various outdoor activities and travel to different places to explore the local culture and characteristics of different places. Participating in various culture-related activities, meeting and communicating with people from all over the world, and learning about different cultures are highlights of my studying abroad experience. 

I am proud to be a member of ICSP and a representative of Chinese culture. I always believe our development is shaped by our culture, and knowing the cultures of people around us helps us understand more about each other and reduce misunderstandings. I am looking forward to sharing the culture and real information of my country.